The Westside Gazette

Broward County Vice Mayor Barbara Sharief elected Florida Association of Counties’ second and vice president

Broward County Vice Mayor Barbara Sharief

Broward County Vice Mayor Barbara Sharief elected Florida Association of Counties’ second and vice president

Sharief will now serve on FAC executive committee and likely ascend to become FAC President in 2016

By Kimberly Maroe, Public Information Manager

Broward County Vice Mayor Barbara Sharief was elected to serve as second vice president of the Florida Association of Counties (FAC). Vice Mayor Sharief was officially installed on Friday, along with members of the FAC Executive Committee and FAC Board of Directors.

“I am both honored and very humbled to receive the nomination for second vice president of FAC. I am so appreciative of the confidence and faith that my colleges have in me. I will continue to represent the best interest of all Florida’s counties to the best of my ability,” said Vice Mayor Sharief.

Vice Mayor Sharief was recently awarded the FAC Presidential Advocacy Award for her work during the 2013 Florida Legislative session and received the FAC Advanced County Commissioner designation after completing a series of advanced leadership seminars.

“Vice Mayor Sharief is committed to her constituents and the importance of keeping services local,” said FAC Executive Director Chris Holley, “Her per-severance in standing up for home rule – the idea that government closest to the people governs best – will ensure that our members are well represented.”

In addition to Vice Mayor Sharief, Leon County Commissioner Bryan Desloge was reinstalled as FAC President, Escambia County Commissioner Grover Robinson became President-Elect, Nassau County Commissioner Barry Holloway was installed as first vice president and Martin County Commissioner Doug Smith was reinstalled as immediate past president.

The Association is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of one county commissioner from each state senate district (40); five executive officers; six county commissioners appointed at-large with no more than three of the six from counties with population of 75,000 or more; and the past presidents of the FAC.


Exit mobile version