A Pink Pearl Production: New ‘Little Miss Precious Pearl’ crowned

Layla Davidson and Destiny Roberts
Layla Davidson and Destiny Roberts
Layla Davidson and Destiny Roberts

A Pink Pearl Production: New ‘Little Miss Precious Pearl’ crowned

 By Pearl Maloney

“A Pink Pearl Production” was the buzz in late May and early June as  AKAdemic members prepared for the annual fundraising event. Selected as the co-chairpersons for this momentous event were Leila C. Lumpkins and Claudia Morgan who steered us into a mood of togetherness as well as a sisterly mode to compete for the good of accomplishing, “A Miss Precious Pearl” fruition.

Winning the Crown!

These nine young ladies were prepared to pass the crown to the next “Little Miss Precious Pearl”. Each contestant had been trained by the ladies on this illustrious committee to be prepared.

Their team members included Dedrie Registe & Diana Reid, Immediate past chair-ladies and Marquetta James and Raylene Thomas, Annie Shirlene Chester, Cynthia Ryder, Vickey Peacey, Executive Director of the AKAdemic Foundation, Caranita Rhone, Mary Robinson, Mrs. Kay-sandra Lockhart, Aniva Lumpkins, Afrah Hamin, Lynette Johnson, Carolyn Washington, Deidre Wilson and Vanna Norman.

Little Miss Destiny Roberts graced the stage at Sunrise Civic Center when she strolled across to present her crown to Little Miss Layla Davidson as the 2013-2014 “Miss
Precious Pearl”
. Destiny is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Roderick Roberts.

Layla Davidson is the daughter of proud parents, Dr. and Mrs. Marcus Davidson pastor and First Lady of the new Mount Olive Baptist Church.

The young contestants were meticulously groomed to interact with other girls, learn everyday etiquette, health is-sues and many other facets into growing into world issues. The pageant was an eloquent event and enjoyed by all in attendance.

Those vying for the crown were Angela Brown, Zoe Burt, Layla Davidson, Kierra
Dorceus, Arianna Extantus, Allure Ford, Chanel Humphrey, MaKayla Lucus, Judah
Rasool and Sadie Watson.

Executive Director Vickey Pearcey addressed the audience explaining activities
AKAdemics is responsible for and its function in the community, its origin and function and our present officers. Also paying respects to President, Ethel Pearl Maloney.

Joanne Fletcher, president of Zeta Rho Omega expressed a great thank you to members and all in attendance.

fundraising efforts benefit 17 graduating Broward seniors. Zeta Rho Omega, a local chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated, proudly extended handshakes and Scholarships these Seventeen Deserving Recipients at the annual scholarship Sip. The event was held at the Jim Ward Center in Plantation, Fla. under the auspices of AKAdemics Foundation with members of the foundation hosting. Foundation President, E. Pearl Maloney, addressed the graduates after an inspiring speech was given by the Honorable Mary Rudd Robinson.

Academic Foundation is the Financial Arm for Zeta Rho Omega Chapter Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority. Scholarships are derived from funds raised through the foundation.

President Fletcher gave con-gratulatory remarks to graduates.

Mario Lopez, Plantation High School; Melisa Romaine, Miramar High School; Chaniqua James, Plantation High School; Octavia Edwards, Dillard High School; Ashley Burke, Miramar High School; Josh Rodriguez, Piper High School; Dominique Lindsay, Charles W. Flanagan School; Romello, Dillard High School; Amanda Carrsquib, Piper High School; Vanessa Romain, Miramar High School; Alexandra Danjour Boyd Anderson High School; Maya Jenkins Performing Arts 2013 Scholarship Recipients; Bernance Dorsett, Miramar High School; Cassaundra Belony, Northeast High School; Ayala Valentine, Piper High School; Brandi Robinson, Dillard High School and the Heritage Award went to Janell Floyd and Romello Walker.


About Carma Henry 20568 Articles
Carma Lynn Henry Westside Gazette Newspaper 545 N.W. 7th Terrace, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311 Office: (954) 525-1489 Fax: (954) 525-1861

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.