By Arizona Informant

(Source Arizona Informant):    

The HBCU All-Star game, will take place Sunday, April 7th in Phoenix, at the prestigious Grand Canyon University Global Credit Union Arena, and featuring four premier HBCU NCAA Division I and II conferences in the country.

The game will be comprised of the nation’s top 24 players who will make up the rosters named after two HBCU and NBA Legends, Team Rick Mahorn versus Team Ben Wallace. The game will air live on the CBS Television Network and be available to stream on Paramount+. Game time is 1pm PT/4 pm ET.

“The 24 players that have been selected from our 2023-24 basketball season and top 65 Watch List represent the best in college basketball at our country’s esteem Historically Black colleges and universities.

HBCU All-Star Game Roster Revealed

  For the past five months, I have been on an amazing HBCU All-We have watched so many games in person, on television, and our HBCU All-Stars national scouting staff evaluated and scouted the top players from the 49 participating HBCUs. There were many out-standing players very deserving of this great honor and opportunity to play at the highest level on the beautiful campus of Grand Canyon University and on the biggest stage during college basketball’s biggest weekend with our great partnership with CBS Television Network and CBS Sports for this historic and third annual HBCU All-Star game,” said HBCU All-Stars LLC Founder and CEO Travis L. Williams. Stars national promotional tour across the country talking about this god-driven vision providing E.A.R. and O.R.R. (Exposure, Access, Recognition, Opportunities, Resources, and Results) for our proud and prestigious HBCUs, hard-working, talented, ambitious, deserving students, student-athletes, and brilliant coaches across the country.

“This is history in the making once again to host the first ever HBCU All-Star Game in the valley of the sun and in a part of the country where HBCUs does not exist,” said Williams. ” As. always, I am just being obedient to this God-driven vision that was founded in 2019, and it has been a long journey and dream come true to get to this point in year no. 3. We will continue honoring and celebrating the rich history, tradition, and contributions of HBCUs to the sport of college basketball. I am truly excited in year No. 3 with our founding partner Aflac and expect to put on another great event in Phoenix. This year, Aflac will be returning as the official sponsor of the HBCU All-Star game.”

“At Aflac, we have a long history of recognizing and supporting historically black colleges and universities. The HBCU All-Star Game is a wonderful expression of the HBCU experience and does a tremendous job in shining the spotlight on these highly talented players,” said Garth Knutson, chief marketing officer. “We know that there continues to be a gap in recognizing and celebrating the talent these students offer and we are excited to once again deepen our commitment to closing this gap for HBCU students, on and off the court, as an official sponsor of the HBCU All-Star basketball game.”

  Team Rick Mahorn will be coached by North Carolina Central University Head Men’s Basketball Coach Levelle Moton, and Clark Atlanta University Head Men’s Basketball Coach Alfred Jordan. The team is comprised of players who compete in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC), Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC), and Independent schools representing Tennessee State, Hampton, and North Carolina A&T State Universities while Team Ben Wallace will be coached by Texas Southern University Head Men’s Basketball Coach Johnny Jones and Lincoln University (Pa.) Head Men’s Basketball Coach Jason Armstrong and made up of players who competed in the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) and Central Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (CIAA).

The HBCU All-Stars John McLendon NCAA National Division I Coach of the Year is Donte’ Jackson, Head Men’s Basketball Coach at Grambling State University, while the HBCU All-Stars Art McAfee NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year is Alfred Jordan from Clark Atlanta University.

The HBCU All-Stars Sam Jones NCAA Division I National Play- er of the Year is Fred Cleveland Jr. from North Carolina Central University who will also be suiting up for Team Rick Mahorn. The HBCU All-Stars Earl “The Pearl” Monroe Division II National Player of the Year is Chris Martin from Clark Atlanta University and suiting up for Team Rick Mahorn.

With a mission to advocate, educate, expose, mentor, and invest in HBCU students, student athletes and coaches across the country, the event aims to showcase the “Best in Black College Basketball.” Launched by HBCU All-Stars LLC, a Black-owned sports marketing, events, and media company in Atlanta, the HBCU All-Star Game brings outstanding, talented, ambitious, and hardworking HBCU students, student-athletes and brilliant coaches and celebrate Black Excellence, Black History, and Black Cultural Experiences at the highest level.

Visit and follow @hbcuallstargame to learn more about the game, ancillary events and tickets.


About Carma Henry 24585 Articles
Carma Lynn Henry Westside Gazette Newspaper 545 N.W. 7th Terrace, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311 Office: (954) 525-1489 Fax: (954) 525-1861

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.