Broward teen helps lead statewide movement against tobacco

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.
Joshua Davis
Joshua Davis

Broward teen helps lead statewide movement against tobacco

Junior from Saint Thomas Aquinas High School elected to State Youth Advocacy Board

Joshua Davis, junior from Saint Thomas Aquinas High School elected to State Youth Advocacy Board.

    BROWARD COUNTY, FL — Joshua Davis, a junior attending Saint Thomas Aquinas High School was recently elected to the Youth Advocacy Board for Florida’s Students Working Against Tobacco (SWAT). Joshua is president of the Kappa Leadership Development League SWAT Chapter, and will represent Broward County Region 4 on the State Youth Advocacy Board. SWAT chapters in Broward County are managed by the Florida Department of Health in Broward County.

“I want to serve on the State-wide SWAT Youth Advocacy Board to help prevent the sale of flavored tobacco products to kids and discourage kids from smoking,” said Joshua.

The Youth Advocacy Board works in collaboration with the Florida Department of Health’s Bureau of Tobacco Free Florida to determine the direction and scope of both the SWAT organization and the youth tobacco prevention component of the statewide campaign. They also work with grantees on a county level to support policy efforts that denormalize tobacco use.

The mission of SWAT is to mobilize, educate and equip Florida youth to stand up against the use of tobacco. It is a united movement of em-powered youth working towards a tobacco-free future. Through SWAT’s efforts, they will shape tobacco-free norms, making tobacco less desirable, less acceptable and less accessible.

Other newly elected members of SWAT’s Youth Advocacy Board include: Melissa Boyles, Flagler County; Shirley Castillo, Seminole County; Aser Civilus, Clay County; Joshua Davis, Broward County; Amber Headley, Sarasota County; Maria Hernandez, Hendry County; Edward Leonard, Miami-Dade County; Magi Linscott, Santa Rosa County; Paola Lugo, Polk County; Emily Manis, Levy County; Julia Osagie, Leon County; MyKenzie Robertson, Pasco County; Olivia Rodriquez, Okaloosa County; Grace Rudolph, Pinellas County; and Jessica Young, Washington County.

“Youth advocates play a key role in changing perceptions about tobacco in our state,” said Tobacco Free Florida Bureau Chief Shannon Hughes. “These ambitious students have the energy, passion and knowledge to create positive change and influence both their peers and the community as a whole.” Members of the SWAT Youth Advocacy Board will serve a term through June 30, 2014.

Tobacco users interested in quitting are encouraged to use one of the state’s three ways to quit. To learn about Tobacco Free Florida and the state’s free quit resources, visit or follow the campaign on Facebook at or Twitter at


Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

About Carma Henry 13530 Articles
Carma Lynn Henry Westside Gazette Newspaper 545 N.W. 7th Terrace, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311 Office: (954) 525-1489 Fax: (954) 525-1861

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.