Miami, FL – During a special ceremony prior to kickoff of the Miami Dolphins – Jacksonville Jaguars game, on Sunday, December 16th, the Dolphins will induct six former players into the team’s Walk of Fame at the Joe Robbie Alumni Plaza at Gate C of Sun Life Stadium. The honorees, selected by the Dolphins organization, are being recognized as ‘Unsung Heroes’, for their unselfish contributions to their teams and their willingness to go above and beyond their roles in any way they were asked. The players that will be inducted into the Walk of Fame include defensive tackle Tim Bowens, linebacker/defensive end AJ Duhe, defensive end Manny Fernandez, wide receiver Nat Moore and quarterbacks Earl Morrall and Don Strock.


  • ·         Tim Bowens (1994-2004): Bowens spent all 11 of his NFL seasons with the Dolphins as a defensive tackle and helped allow for the success of 2012 Honor Roll inductees Jason Taylor and Zach Thomas by occupying blockers, freeing them up to make their more visible plays. He holds the fifth-longest consecutive starts streak in franchise history with 92 and recorded 407 tackles (297 solo), 22 sacks and one interception in his career.


  • ·         A.J. Duhe (1977-1984): A versatile player, Duhe filled many defensive roles in his eight seasons with the Dolphins and was a key member of the legendary “Killer B’s Defense” in the 1970s and 1980s. In the 1982 AFC Championship victory over the New York Jets, he tallied three interceptions, including one returned for a touchdown, to help lead the Dolphins to a berth in Super Bowl XVII.


  • ·         Manny Fernandez (1968-1975): As a defensive tackle, Fernandez’s primary assignment during his eight-year career with the Dolphins was to free up Hall of Fame linebacker Nick Buoniconti to make tackles. However, in Super Bowl VII, it was Fernandez who racked up the stops as he totaled 17 tackles in the 14-7 victory over the Washington Redskins to cap the 1972 team’s undefeated season. Fernandez playing resume also included recording over 100 tackles twice during his career in 1972 (107) and 1973 (113).


  • ·         Nat Moore (1974-1986): During Moore’s 13 year career with the Miami Dolphins, he established a reputation as a “jack of all trades player,” playing multiple positions in order to give the Dolphins the best chance to achieve victory. He finished his career as one of the most prolific offensive players in Dolphin history, ranking in the top three of seven major statistical categories and number one in both career receptions and receiving yards. Moore applied his selfless demeanor to the Miami community as well, establishing the Nat Moore Foundation for disadvantaged youths in addition to numerous other charitable activities, leading him to be named the 1984 NFL Man of the Year.


  • ·         Earl Morrall (1972-1976): Earl Morrall played in the NFL for 21 seasons, the last five of which he served as the Dolphins backup quarterback and a mentor to NFL Hall of Famer and Dolphins legend Bob Griese. Morrall played a key role for the 1972 undefeated Dolphins team, taking the reins at quarterback after Griese broke his leg early in the season, and commanding the Dolphins to a 9-0 record while throwing for 11 touchdowns and posting a 91.0 quarterback rating, the sixth best QB rating in any season by a Dolphin quarterback. Morrall received the AFC Player award and the inaugural NFL Comeback Player of the Year Award for his play in the ’72 undefeated season.


  • ·         Don Strock (1974-1987): Don Strock is one of the longest tenured players in Miami Dolphins history, his 14 seasons of service tied with former teammate and fellow QB Bob Griese for third on the all-time list. Strock is known for his outstanding relief efforts, and was one half of “Wood-Strock,” named after the quarterback tandem of David Woodley and himself that led the Dolphins to Super Bowl XVII. When Dan Marino was drafted by the Dolphins in 1983, Strock dutifully took on the role of mentor, and helped Marino develop into one of the most prolific passers in NFL history.


Fans are invited to attend the ceremony and unveiling which will begin at 11:30 a.m. at the Dolphins Walk of Fame in Joe Robbie Alumni Plaza at Gate C.


The Walk of Fame at the Joe Robbie Alumni Plaza is designed to honor the alumni, coaches and fans that have been a part of the team’s 46 year history.  The first honorees inducted to the Walk of Fame in 2011 were team founder Joe Robbie and the members of the Dolphins who have been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Head Coach Don Shula and playersNick Buoniconti, Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Dan Marino, Dwight Stephenson, and Paul Warfield.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.