Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association announces new leadership for 2018-19

Alwyn Leiba, CRDH, Ph.D.
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.
Alwyn Leiba, CRDH, Ph.D.

By Tami Miller

     TALLAHASSEE , FL —The Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association installed Alwyn Leiba, CRDH, Ph.D., of Pembroke Pines, Fla., as the association’s 2018-19 president, along with FDHA’s new slate of officers for the upcoming year. “I am grateful for the opportunity to serve our association toward the next level of achievement,” said Dr. Leiba. “I want to collaborate with other organizations to improve access to oral care for the citizens of Florida.” Dr. Leiba made history as the first African American male president of Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association (FDHA) and the recipient of the “2016 FDHA Swann D. Knowles Achievement Award”. He also serves as a board member for Mister RDH an organization that empowers male hygienist.

Dr. Leiba has served the Association in a wide range of positions, including most recently as president-elect of FDHA, a member of the board trustees and several committees. He also served his component South Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association in numerous leadership roles.

Dr. Leiba holds an AS degree in dental hygiene from Miami Dade College, a BS degree in dental hygiene from Saint Petersburg College, an MBA degree from American Intercontinental University in Georgia and a PhD degree in Higher Education Leader-ship from North central University in Ari-zona. Dr. Leiba currently works as the Chairperson in the School of Health Sciences at Miami Dade College and previously as an Associate Professor in the Dental Hygiene Program at Miami Dade College.

Dr. Leiba succeeds Sue Kassoff-Correia, CRDH, BS, of Boca Raton, Florida, as president. Kassoff-Correia will re-main on the Board of Trustees serving both as FDHA immediate past-president and board of dentistry liaison.

  • Former Governor of Puerto Rico Alejandro García Padilla
  • U.S. Congressman Darren Soto
  • U.S. Congresswoman Nydia Velazquez
  • U.S. Congressman Luis Gutierrez
  • Gurabo (P.R.) Mayor Rosachely Rivera Santiago
  • State Senator Victor Torres
  • State Representative Amy Mercado
  • State Representative John Cortes
  • State Representative Robert Asencio
  • Puerto Rico Senator Margarita Nolasco Santiago
  • Osceola County Commissioner Viviana Janer
  • Orange County Commissioner Emily Bonilla
  • Greenacres Mayor Joel Flores
  • Melbourne Councilwoman Teresa Lopez
  • Former Chairman of Democratic Party of Puerto Rico Charlie Rodriguez
  • Alianza for Progress President Juan Marcus Villar
  • Democratic Hispanic Caucus President Noemi McGregor
  • Florida Puerto Rico Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Chairman Sam Lopez
  • Former Puerto Rican Bar Association President Anthony Suarez


Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.
About Carma Henry 13712 Articles
Carma Lynn Henry Westside Gazette Newspaper 545 N.W. 7th Terrace, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311 Office: (954) 525-1489 Fax: (954) 525-1861

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.