North Broward County Chapter Links inducted seven new members into their circle of friendship and service


North Broward County Chapter Links inducted seven new members into their circle of friendship and service

NORTH-BROWARD-LINKS2-MRSNBC Links vote new leaders for 2017. The North Broward County Chapter of The Links, Incorporated recently elected and installed new officers on May 12 for the 2017-2019 terms. From l to r, seated: Trellanee Moore-Adderly, 1st Vice President/Membership Chair; Anne T. Herriott, Southern Area President of The Links, Incorporated; Joe Ann Fletcher, Chapter President. Standing: Margaret Roseburr, chapter co-organizer; Leslie Nixon, Financial Secretary; Angela Lucas-Mumford, 2nd Vice President/Programs Chair; Lynette Drayton, Recording Secretary; Kimberly C. Moseley, Parliamentarian; Connie McKinley, Archivist; Natalie Moffitt Beasley, Corresponding Secretary; Anita Fain Taylor, Chaplain and Dottie Ruffin, chapter co-organizer.

NORTH-BROWARD-LINKS1New members inducted to North Broward County Chapter — L to r, seated: Earlene Striggles Horne, President; Anne T. Herriott, Southern Area Regional Director, Frederica Dixon, 1st Vice President/Membership Chair; l to r, standing: Dorothy (Dottie) Ruffin, Chapter Co-organizer and charter member, Julienne “Julie” Owens; Tina Teague, Samine Jernigan, Avis Proctor, Gayle Keaton, Catherine Minnis, Stefanie Moon and Margaret Roseburr, Chapter Co-organizer and charter member.

Submitted by Tamara Gant

      The North Broward County Chapter of The Links, Incorporated recently invited seven dynamic women into their organization to continue their mantra of “Linked in Friendship, Connected in Service” in Broward County.

More than 150 family members and friends attended the induction ceremony on May 6 at The Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites where “The Solid 7” presented their community service project: a painted mural featuring words of encouragement and love in the cafeteria at Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Montessori Academy; the only Montessori school in Broward County that predominately serves children of color.

The seven new members consist of the following: Samine Jernigan, MBA, who serves as a Senior Project Manager for Cordis Corporation (the cardio-vascular arm of Johnson & Johnson); Gayle Davis Keaton, who recently retired from the Broward County Public Schools; Catherine A. Minnis, MBA, who has more than 29 years of local and state government experience in building relationships via public relations and fund development. Stefanie C. Moon, Esq. is the principal of S. C. MOON LAW, a woman-owned law firm; Julie Owens is a Curriculum Support Specialist and Teacher Trainer for Miami-Dade County Public Schools; Avis Proctor, Ed.D, serves as the President of Broward College’s North Campus; and Tina Teague, CEO of Tina Teague Insurance Agency, Inc. a State Farm agent for 27 years. Congratulations to these 7 women.

Just in the last year, The NBC Links contributed approximately 2000 volunteer hours with some of their signature programs, including weekly tutoring at Deerfield Beach Elementary School, a senior luncheon in partnership with The Miami Dolphins and AARP; The Women’s Empowerment Conference and Institute; Dr. Martin Luther King’s “A Day On, Not a Day Off” program with The City of Coral Springs, and Girls on Track Program at Margate Middle school.

For more information, contact


About Carma Henry 16622 Articles
Carma Lynn Henry Westside Gazette Newspaper 545 N.W. 7th Terrace, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311 Office: (954) 525-1489 Fax: (954) 525-1861

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.