You Are Here: Home » Feature » Cloves Campbell, Jr. re-elected Chairman of NNPA

Cloves Campbell, Jr. re-elected Chairman of NNPA

Cloves Campbell Cloves Campbell, Jr. re elected Chairman of NNPA

Cloves Campbell, Jr.; First Vice Chair, Mollie Finch Belt; Second Vice President, John B. Smith Sr.,; Secretary Natalie Cole, and Treasure Lenora Alexander.

Cloves Campbell, Jr. re-elected Chairman of NNPA

Cloves Campbell, Jr. re-elected Chairman of NNPA; First Vice Chair, Mollie Finch Belt, Dallas Examiner; Second Vice President, John B. Smith, Sr., Atlanta Inquirer; Secretary, Natalie Cole, Our Weekly and Treasurer, Lenora Alexander, Denver Weekly News.

     NASHVILLE, TENN. (NNPA) – Cloves Campbell, Jr., publisher of the Arizona Informant, was re-elected to a second term as chairman of the National Newspaper Publishers Association at the NNPA’s annual convention here. The voting took place on Friday, near the conclusion of the association’s four-day convention.

“I am honored that my colleagues have chosen to give me another term as chairman,” said Campbell, head of a federation of nearly 200 newspapers with a combined readership of more than 19 million. “It was a strong vote of confidence for our leadership team as we embark on a strategy that includes collaborating with other organizations, forming new partnerships and inviting a new generation of readers to step into the ever evolving world of the Black Press.”

The other officers are:

First Vice Chair: Mollie Finch Belt, Dallas Examiner

Second Vice President: John B. Smith, Sr., Atlanta Inquirer

Secretary: Natalie Cole, Our Weekly

Treasurer: Lenora Alexander, Denver Weekly News


Other board members elected

At-Large – Denise Rolark Barnes, Washington In-former

At-Large – Karen Carter Richards, Houston Forward Times


Elected from the regions:

Region I – Miatta Smith, New York Beacon

Rod Doss, New Pittsburgh Courier

Region II – Bobby R. Henry, Sr. The Westside Gazette

Mary Alice Thatch, Wilmington Journal

Region III – Hiram Jackson, Michigan Chronicle

Shannon Williams, Indianapolis Recorder


Region IV

Joycelne Fadojutimi, East Texas Review

Doris Ellis, Houston Sun

Region V- Amelia Ashley-Ward, San Francisco Sun Reporter

Chris B. Bennett, Seattle Medium

NNPA Foundation Board

Thomas H. Watkins, Jr., New York Daily Challenge

Jackie Hampton, Mississippi Link

Mary Denson, Windy City Word

Beverly Stanton McKenna, New Orleans Tribune

Pluria Marshall, Wave Community Newspapers


Continuing to serve as com-munity representatives on the NNPA Foundation Board: Ron Busby, U.S. Black Chamber, Inc.

Xernona Clayton, Trumpet Awards Foundation, Inc.

Dirk A. Hargraves, Vox Global


Regional presidents elected:

Region I – Denise Rolark Barnes, Washington Informer

Region II – Fran Farrer, County News

Region III – James R. Crosby, City News

Region IV – Tommy Wyatt, The Villlager

Region V – Peggy Hunt, Tri-County Sentry



Be Sociable, Share!

    About The Author

    Carma Lynn Henry Westside Gazette Newspaper 545 N.W. 7th Terrace, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311 Office: (954) 525-1489 Fax: (954) 525-1861

    Number of Entries : 6478

    Leave a Comment

    Site Designed By

    Scroll to top