Broward County has a new Mayor

The Broward County Commissioners have elected the county’s new mayor,  Dale V.C. Holness., who accepted his oath to office on Tuesday as his son Daylan holds the bible while Bishop Henry Fernandez, Senior Pastor of The Faith Center managed the oath. Commissioner Holness who since 2010 has represented District 9, whose cities include Oakland Park, Plantation, Lauderdale Lakes and Lauderhill was Vice Mayor to Mayor Mark Bogen. In the tradition of Broward County , Holness succeeds Bogen and Commissioner Steve Geller of District 5 is the new Vice Mayor. Unlike Miami-Dade County, Broward doesn’t have an elected mayor, and they only serve a one-year term after being elected by the commission.



About Carma Henry 16902 Articles
Carma Lynn Henry Westside Gazette Newspaper 545 N.W. 7th Terrace, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311 Office: (954) 525-1489 Fax: (954) 525-1861

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.