Florida repeats as women’s tennis champion

Submitted Florida Gator

Florida won its second consecutive NCAA Division I women’s tennis title Tuesday in Athens, Ga., with the same player — Lauren Embree — coming up with the title-clinching point for the second year in a row.

The Gators blanked top seed UCLA (26-3) for the crown 4-0 with Embree beating McCall Jones 6-4, 6-0 to wrap it up. Last year, Embree won a third-set tiebreaker for the final point as Florida edged Stanford 4-3.

Florida finished this season 27-1, winning 22 in a row after a 5-2 loss to Stanford in March. It was the first back-to-back titles for the Gators and the first for anyone since Stanford won three in a row from 2004-06.

For coach Roland Thornqvist, he has three national titles with the Gators (2003, ’11, ’12). Florida now has six women’s tennis titles overall.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.