Moore Foundation awards scholarships

coverMoore Foundation awards scholarships

     In last week’s edition Thursday, May 19, 2016 this article was printed in the Westside Gazette with information that was omitted; this is the entire article, our apologizes.

The Carlton B. Moore Freedom Foundation, Inc. awarded three high school seniors with scholarships to assist them with furthering their college/university educations. This is the Foundation’s second year of awarding scholarships to our local youths.

The following high school seniors each received a $1,000 scholarship:

Kennedy J. Butler will graduate from Dillard High School and plans to attend Bethune Cookman University (B-CU). She plans on majoring in Business Administration. Her parents are Sonji Covin-Butler and Roderick C. Butler, Sr.

Nedrick Haye-McKoy will graduate from Fort Lauderdale High School and plans to attend the University of Central Florida (UCF). He plans to major in Computer Engineering. His parents are Beverly Haye and the late Clive McKoy.

Timothy T. Webb, Jr. will graduate from Fort Lauderdale High School and plans to attend Florida A&M University (FAMU).

He plans to major in Physical Therapy. His parents are Sharonda Striggles Webb and Timothy T. Webb, Sr.

The scholarship is named in memorial of Carlton B. Moore, a former City of Fort Lauderdale Commissioner for more than 20 years. His favorite saying was, “When wishing won’t, work will”. Moore attended Dillard High School and graduated from Fort Lauderdale High School, served as president of the Fort Lauderdale Chapter of the NAACP and also a recipient of many awards.

He was an advocate for change and revitalization, especially for the Northwest corridor.  He loved music, especially jazz, and traveling.

The Chairman and Honorary Chairman of the Board are Becky Jones and Ada Moore. The other board officers are Vice Chairman Forrest G. Moore; Recording Secretary Afrah Hamin; Treasurer Delores Y. McKinley, and Parliamentarian Ernestine Williams.

The board members include Keith Allen, Mikal Hamin, Kenneth Gibbs, Kenitha Gilliam, Earnestine Hamersham, Earlene Striggles Horne, Cynthia McDonald, De-Nese Moore, Sam Morrison, Dianne Shuler, and Michelle Stoney.

For further information, feel free to contact us at Carltonbmoorefreedomfoundation

About Carma Henry 24178 Articles
Carma Lynn Henry Westside Gazette Newspaper 545 N.W. 7th Terrace, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33311 Office: (954) 525-1489 Fax: (954) 525-1861

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.