You Are Here: Home » Local News » Oscar Thomas Foundation’s 15th Annual Keepers of the Dream

Oscar Thomas Foundation’s 15th Annual Keepers of the Dream

Michael Irvin and Sharon Sbrissa

Oscar Thomas Foundation’s 15th Annual Keepers of the Dream

Michael Irvin and award recipient and Sharon Sbrissa.

By Staff writer

      The late Oscar Thomas, “one of the country’s leading artist of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.” and “The Dream” are the inspiration behind the Oscar Thomas Foundation’s “Keepers of the Dream.”

     This yearly exhibition and award celebration, honors individuals who dare to be different. They unselfishly give of them-selves so that others may develop, and like Dr. King, are architects of leadership, peace, and change.

     Hundreds attended the 15th annual event held April 3, 2013 at Miami’s Little Haiti Cultural Center.

     This year’s honorees included community activists Maria and Viter Juste (deceased), retired educator Dr. Earl Wells, Fort Lauderdale pediatrician Dr. Rozalyn Paschal, retired teacher, Sharon Sbrissa, and retired college and NFL coach Hubbard Alexander.

     “This award is an honor,” said Dr. Paschal. “Dr. King’s sister taught at my school, my grandfather lived around the corner from Dr. King, and I was on the honor guard at his funeral.”

     NFL Hall of Famer Michael Irvin accepted the award on behalf of Hubbard Alexander, the man who coached him at the University of Miami and Dallas Cowboys.

     “Coach Alexander saved so many of us from tough communities,” Irvin said. “He is a father figure, mentor and friend.”

     After the award ceremony, the Oscar Thomas Memorial “Dream Collection” Exhibition, introduced diverse artists celebrating love, justice, democracy, hope and the dream of all people to walk together in peace and harmony.

     The multimedia collection, which runs through April 30, features dozens of works, including paintings and sculptures from renowned artists George Gadson, Lew Lautin, Carl Juste, Serge Toussaint, Steven Sylvester, Esther Archange, Christopher Barnhart, Kaylin Brady, Generlyn Jean, Richard Johnson, Caroline Lilavois, Emilio Martinez, Robert McKnight, Lori Pratico, Reav, Troy Simmons and Nanci Thomas.


Be Sociable, Share!

    Leave a Comment

    Site Designed By

    Scroll to top