You Are Here: Home » Local News » Trumpet Awards Foundation announces the 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards – with hosts Melissa De Sousa and Laz Alonso

Trumpet Awards Foundation announces the 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards – with hosts Melissa De Sousa and Laz Alonso

TRUMPET-AWARDS-FOUNDATIONTrumpet Awards Foundation announces the 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards – with hosts Melissa De Sousa and Laz Alonso

Front row: (l to r), Rev. Nathaniel Bronner, Jr. (Trumpet Award Honoree); Avarita L. Hanson; (High Heels Honoree, Chief Justice’s Commission on Professionalism), Bishop William Sheals (Spiritual Enlightenment Honoree); Xernona Clayton (Founder, Chairperson, President and CEO of the Trumpet Awards Foundation, Inc. and Creator and Executive Producer of the Trumpet Awards); Kysha Cameron (High Heels Honoree, Ryan Cameron Foundation), Sheila Tenney (High Heels Honoree, Atlanta Metropolitan State College); Thomas W. Dortch, Jr. (Treasurer, Trumpet Awards Foundation). Back row: Dr. John Carlos (Walk of Fame Honoree, Olympian, Educator and Activist); Dr. Tommy Smith, (Walk of Fame Honoree, Olympian, Educator and Activist); Rev. Frank Brown, President Concerned Black Clergy (Spiritual Enlightenment Honoree); Rev James Bronner (Trumpet Award Honoree); Rev. C. Elijah Bronner (Trumpet Award Honoree).

By Bunnie Jackson-Ransom or Rita Barrett, First Class, Inc.

     Atlanta, GA. — The Trumpet Awards Foundation presents the 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards, a milestone feat that pays tribute to a group‘ of history-making honorees who are slated to receive the 2014 esteemed Trumpet Award.

The honorees join a list of some of the most celebrated personalities in this nation and abroad. The 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards black-tie ceremony will be hosted by Melissa De Sousa, known for her performances in “The Best Man”, “The Best Man Holiday”, and “The Ron Clark Story”; and Laz Alonso, known for his starring performances in “Fast and the Furious”, “Jumping the Broom”, and is soon to be seen in a lead role in “Sony Screen Gems’ Battle of the Year.” The Trumpet Awards show will be held at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta on Saturday, Jan. 25, 2014, with the Red Carpet at 2 p.m. and the Awards Show taping at 4 p.m.

The weekend of events and activities, held at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in downtown Atlanta, begin on Thursday, Jan. 23 with the Prayer Breakfast, scheduled for 8:30 a.m.; High Tea with High Heels, scheduled at 12:30 p.m. and the Race Relations Symposium scheduled at 6 p.m. An induction of ten new footprints will be placed into the International Civil Rights Walk of Fame. This induction ceremony is scheduled for Friday, Jan. 24, 2014 at 10 a.m. at the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site, National Park Service, located at 450 Auburn Avenue (Atlanta, Ga.). The program preceding the induction ceremony will be held at Ebenezer Baptist Church.

The Annual Trumpet Awards was created to celebrate and honor African American achievers and those who support the African American experience. The Awards honor accomplishments in diverse fields including law, medicine, business, politics, the Arts, civil rights, sports, entrepreneurship, entertainment and other careers.

The following is a partial list of the 2014 TRUMPET AWARDS honorees: DeVon Franklin – Senior Vice President of Columbia Tristar Pictures; The Honorable Kamala Harris – Attorney General of California; Deryl & Cheryl McKissack –President and CEO McKissack & McKissack; Charles J. Ogletree, Jr. – Professor, Harvard Law School; Steve Pemberton – Vice President, Chief Diversity Officer of Walgreens; Alfre Woodard – Actress; Bronner Brothers / Bronner Brothers Hair Pro-ducts – Entrepreneurs ; Wil-iams Sisters – Entrepreneurs and Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff – Award Winning Producers/Songwriters.


Be Sociable, Share!

    Leave a Comment

    Site Designed By

    Scroll to top